Counterterrorism Department

The Counterterrorism Department (DCT) responds to the current developments on counterterrorism. The Department is within the government the unmistakeable point of contact for jihadism. And works together in close contact with local and national authorities and other partners.

The comprehensive approach is rooted in the National Counterterrorism Strategy 2016-2020 and consists of five elements/actions: procuring information, preparing for an attack, protecting people and property, preventing attacks and pursuing terrorists. This broad combination of preventive and repressive measures has long been standard practice in the Netherlands.